Department of Economics

Our Department

The Department of Economics was instituted along with the establishment of the College in 1959. It offers a B.A. (Honours) in Economics – one of the most prestigious and sought-after courses at the University of Delhi.

The Department is dedicated to providing students with a comprehensive and rigorous education in the field of economics. The curriculum provides students with a solid foundation in economic theory and practical skills in data analysis and research methods. Students are encouraged to think critically and analytically and to apply economic principles to real-world problems.

Students have the opportunity to engage with the material through hands-on projects, case studies, and real-world applications, providing them with a well-rounded and practical education in their subject. In addition to coursework, students can participate in extracurricular activities such as research projects, internships, and conferences abroad. These experiences help students develop their skills and knowledge while preparing them for careers in academia, government, or the private sector.

One of the key strengths of our Department of Economics is the faculty members who make up the Department. These scholars are highly respected in academia and dedicated to teaching and conducting cutting-edge research. The faculty’s research interests and doctoral specialization range from macroeconomics, development studies, education, environmental and health economics, trade, manufacturing and industry; they have earned top honours and distinctions in economics and allied fields such as management.

Many faculty members have published in prestigious academic journals (SCOPUS, UGC-Care, etc.) and have presented their research at international conferences worldwide. The research excellence of the faculty enriches the educational experience for students by exposing them to the latest developments and debates within the field of economics. They have even mentored award-winning student publications and research projects.

The Union and State Governments have invited faculty to conduct examinations and consult on course design and training of newly recruited public servants. Faculty members are involved in research collaborations with faculty from universities abroad and international agencies such as UNESCO, and they have been awarded national research grants. Students who choose to study economics at our College have the opportunity to learn from these accomplished scholars and benefit from their wealth of knowledge and expertise.

Additionally, the Department hosts seminars and events that bring in guest speakers and experts to discuss current issues in economics, providing students with valuable networking opportunities and insights into potential careers. Students within the Department of Economics have also excelled in various competitions and accolades. Many of our graduates have achieved successful careers in economics and related fields and have been recognized for their achievements and contributions.

With its emphasis on research excellence and student success, the Department of Economics at our College is a premier destination for those interested in economics.

instagram profile viewer